Sci-fi film to be made in Tsilhqot’in

August 2, 2009 at 12:41 am 3 comments

According to a CBCNews.ca article, a sci-fi film is being shot in Prince Rupert, BC completely in the Tsilhqot’in (Chilcotin) language. Thanks to James Crippen of the Zero Morpheme blog for sending this alert out to members of his ATHAPBASCKAN-L list.

Mentioned in the CBC article above is the imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival which showcases film and new media works by indigenous peoples.

Entry filed under: native american languages. Tags: , , .

Iroquoian languages, other than Cherokee Map of Reservations in the Continental US

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jason Fisher  |  August 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Did you ever see Mel Gibson’s film, Apocalypto, in which all the dialog is in Mayan? I thought it was quite good.

    Reply
    • 2. Brian C  |  August 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      I still haven’t see that, mostly because I’m not really into his stuff. I haven’t heard much about the reception of the film by native Mayan speakers or linguists. I know it was written in Yucatec Mayan.
      I haven’t seen Passion of the Christ either, though I’d be interested in knowing how much Aramaic I can understand from knowing a lot of Modern and a little Biblical Hebrew.

      Reply
  • 3. Jason Fisher  |  August 14, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I haven’t seen The Passion of the Christ, and I’m not really sure I want to, hahae. But if you do, let us know what you thought about the use of Aramaic (and Latin).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



